the {choice}

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I’m listening to the waves slapping against the rock I’ve placed myself upon, and I’m looking around me wondering, “How in the world am I here?” Here as in- Australia. Here as in, 8,978 miles away from the place I once called home for 21 years. I’m watching the surfer dad teach his tired surfer son. I’m watching the Pacific Ocean carry its weight to and fro before my eyes. I’m feeling the sun warm my skin and comfort my heart. It’s perfect. And I’m here. What a crazy reality.

But really I didn’t plan this, but I did choose it. I chose it when I said yes to Jesus, and every time I’ve said no to the comfortable life since then. Following Jesus is like following my dreams, but in a more radical and romantic way. He sweeps me off my feet, surprises me, and constantly encourages me along my journey of simply following Him. And somehow I ended up– here.

But the thing is– I love hot and ready donuts, I crave coffee every second of the day, I desire to have music played in the background of every moment, and I have a strange addiction to movies and books, or really to anything that involves dreaming. I also despise beans, being cold, and history books. All to say– I’m ordinary, just living an extraordinary life.  People look at me with a wonder and desire of being where I am. But honestly,I’ve done nothing. I’m not anything special. I’m just Kaytee. My life summed up is based upon a bunch of choices.

{Choosing bravery over fear. Choosing wisdom over foolishness. Choosing His Word over my sight. Choosing His promises over my plans.} Simply choosing to follow Jesus. I said yes to Him so many times, but that also means I’ve said no to many other things– that I choose to not count as loss.

The thing is: we all have the choices before us every day. Our lives aren’t so different. Choosing Jesus is simply saying yes to what he says yes to and saying no to what he says no to. And then somehow you may end up halfway across the world living your dream.

Hebrews 12:1-2 says,”Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

He is not only the author, but also the finisher and perfecter of our faith, of our stories.That means “He who begun a good work within you will perform it to the day of Christ.”It also means that your life is an open book of choices.

Imagine you’re sitting across from God at a table with the book of your life wide open to this precise moment of where you’re at right now, and within the crease of the pages is a pen. The pen that can write anything in your story. You can’t change the past but you’re able to choose the future. And it’s laying there before you both. God’s not writing. He’s just being patient spending time with you. And this is where we are faced with the choice. The choice to pick up the pen and write our own story OR… to trust that God is Who He says He is, and allow Him to finish the story He begun.

When we pick up the pen, we fill in the gaps with our plans, imaginations, and desires that are typically chosen out of impatience and lack of knowledge of what’s to come. But when we fix our eyes on Him, the pen almost goes completely unnoticed. You’ll almost forget it’s there when you trust Him to be the author of your story and the timing of how it plays out.

Let me encourage you, I’m so ordinary. I really am. God just makes my life a complete adventure. Saying yes to him really is saying yes to the best He has for me. And I just choose daily to let Him have the pen. I handed the pen over to Him when I gave my life to him, and I choose to trust Him with my life daily. Six countries and seven years later, I can say confidently,

I don’t regret saying yes to Jesus once. {The choice lies before us in the ordinary days that seem unchanging. The choice lies within us that seem to make no difference.} It’s in those choices that the greatest impact is made, because you’re choosing, believing, and trusting that your life wasn’t made to be lived in a ordinary way. Instead you choose to trust the author has written your story to be full of love poured out in extravagance. There’s no limits to what he can do in your life and through your life. It just starts with the simplest most ordinary choices that’ll add up to a novel of unfathomable days you could’ve never written.

Leave a Reply

