The Waited Voice

Hello my dear friends!
I’m sorry it’s been so long. These past three years have been somewhat of a surprise in a challenging and reshaping way. I’ve changed a lot, and change isn’t always my most welcomed friend. However, I’m learning that this shouldn’t be so, for change welcomes our future with grace and kindness every time. Yes, it leads through valleys, up mountains, down deserts, and by raging waters, but it also leads into promised places, unbreakable bonds, deepened connections, and unforgettable love. Change is a risk, yet risk always leads to destined paths.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

There’s a weight to change, and a wait we all know quite well. The weight of the wait sometime feels too demanding, too long, and  too vulnerable, but if we choose to not see it as a foe, we find it shapes us into the most beautiful of treasures. I don’t know if you’ve ever read about how a diamond is shaped under pressure, but Solange Nicole summarises its process well: “A diamond doesn’t start out polished and shining. It once was nothing special, but with enough pressure and time, becomes spectacular. I’m that diamond.” The soul is an unpolished gem waiting to be pressured into its own uniqueness and rarity. But one has to let change be a part of its world to be formed into the undiscovered beauty that they are. The waited voice is just that- a unique, rare, flame of its own. It cannot just choose its own power and form, it must be pressed and pressured into its purpose. The soul shines like a brilliant light once it steps out of its darkest hour into that purpose. The weight of anointing rests upon the voice that has waited with change in the process of becoming its own flame. So don’t rush the process.

In my three years of walking unknown trails, I found the most brilliant places and loveliest of people. I discovered Elms. (pictured above) The cutest boutique with the sweetest store owner. She has a beautiful eye for interior designs, has an incredible heart to support Australian brands, and hosts exhibitions in her gallery space that others may share their art and hearts for us to be inspired by.

2020-01-21 10:22:15.510

I discovered BrighterThis super cute cafe with the most genuine staff and welcoming atmosphere. (Plus, if I do say so myself, their coffee and food is definitely worth a two hour bus ride. ) Brighter’s coffee was produced by a woman named Floralba Apio, in the remote region of Gaitania, Colombia, in which, her main income is her coffee. They purchased most of her harvest, and will continually invest in building an honest and fair supply chain, therefore supporting HER waited voice. Oh and did I mention, they roast the beans IN HOUSE! (as can be seen in the picture to the right)

I discovered Journals. This place is the definition of a journal-lovers dream come true. Let me just copy and paste a snippet of their website for you to know just what I’m talking about: As the fabulous lighting draws you in to our beautiful stores, a feast for the senses begins. The diffusers tantalise with their fragrance while the beautiful classical music soothes frayed nerves. Your eyes move from one quality brand to the next. Your hands touch and enjoy the tactile sensation with the assembly of fine products. Then you see it, it must be yours. And if that doesn’t draw you in, I don’t know what will. The store owner is so lovely, the whole shop is eye candy, and they support different countries visions! I’m telling you, you have to visit! Plus, this DELICIOUS cafe lies just seven minutes away with the most adorable boutique attached. Go to Journals, buy a journal, because its a must, or maybe even a magazine, a pen, a diary, whatever fancies your heart, then go to Koket and enjoy… well anything and everything! It’s the perfect day. (both pictured below) 

And my last shoutout place, is a coffee shop that is almost like a second home to me now. It’s called The Borrowed Table. Losing my childhood hero, (aka my dad), while being in a foreign country, created this gap in my heart that desperately was in need of being filled by family. Finding this coffee shop was just that. It’s owned by a family whose opened their family’s kitchen for all to come and dine! In their very restaurant is their Nonna’s table, in which they shared laughter, love, homemade recipes, and stories without end.  Now its fulfilling its same purpose for others to do the same. It is the definition of family, comfort, aesthetics, and well… kindness. If you decide to visit Hillsong Church in the Hills, drop by this gem for the perfect cup of jo and an authentic meal made from scratch. (pictured below.)

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

The thing is, the only reason I have found all these places, is because I decided to live in the wait zone with purpose and intentionality. Because of this, I changed into who I now I am. It takes a lot of courage to change into the change you wish to see. But it’s so worth it. You find the most incredible people and places, make the best memories, and eat the greatest food!  The wait may be trying at times… but it can also be joyful no matter the circumstance.

O the places those who believe will go. O the sights they will see. O the beauties they will behold. So keep waiting, dear heart. If your journey isn’t over, there’s so much more for you to find.

With love,

Kaytee

Leave a comment